McSwain Theatre’s “Top Male” round of Grand Awards Show Series Set Aug. 17

ADA, Okla. - One preliminary round of the McSwain Theatre’s Grand Award Show Series remains, the “Top Male Performer ” competition, set for 7:30 p.m., Saturday, Aug. 17.

Ada- area vocalists Chris Whisenant, Clancy Davis, Jeff Sibble, Mark Byers and Steve McDaniel and Mark Henderson, of Stonewall will all take part in the show.

Part of the Grand Award Show series, this competition showcases the best local talent and gives the audience the power to choose their favorites.

Jae L. Stilwell and the Crossover band will serve as hosts of the evening.

In the preliminary competitions, participants compete for awards in five categories; best gospel and group performers, male and female performers, and best 16-and-under performer.

The top-five artists in each preliminary are determined by audience vote and advance to compete for top overall honors at the Top 5 Show, set Saturday, Sept. 21.

Top five winners of the 16-and-under round are Carlee Eaton, McAlester; Emily Faith, Kingfisher; Aleah Howard, Elmore City; and Maddox Ross and Sierra Sikes, both of Choctaw.

Top five Gospel groups include; “A Servant’s Heart”, Deborah Butcher, “From the Heart”, Ken Hancock and “Southern Sonlight”, all of Ada.

Group acts advancing to the finals include; Gary McCarter and Carlee Eaton, of Tishomingo and McAlester; “Red River” and Jimmy Tignor and Tom Schultz, all of Ada; Wiley Winters and Missy Rude Pauls Valley; and Lauren Lee and Liberty Road, Holdenville.

Top five Female winners are: Anne Young, Donna Marie and Karissa Davis, all of Ada; Missy Rude, Pauls Valley; and Cathy Lake, Runaway Bay, Texas.

Overall winners, as well as an Entertainer of the Year, will be announced during the Oct. 19 finale.

The recipient of the Mae Boren Axton Award, the highest honor given by the McSwain, will also be revealed.

The 1993 McSwain Theatre Grand Awards Show honored the “Queen Mother of Nashville” Mae Boren Axton for her influence on the music scene.

During her career, Mae Boren Axton worked with some of the biggest names in country music; including Mel Tillis, Reba McEntire, Willie Nelson, Eddy Arnold, Tanya Tucker and Blake Shelton.

Axton is credited with writing more than 200 songs. “Heartbreak Hotel,” the Elvis Presley hit she co-wrote in 1955, is her most famous.

Tickets for the Grand Awards Show and all remaining preliminary rounds are now available.

Each concert ticket includes an Awards Show ballot, allowing ticket-holders to vote for their five favorites as well as a write-in choice for Entertainer of the Year.

Other male vocalists from across Oklahoma are scheduled to perform including: Wayne Gibbs, Konawa; Mark Henderson, Stonewall; Wylie Winters Pauls Valley; Jared Orr, Jason Smith and Jonathan Smith, all of Coalgate; Cutter Elliott, Jarrid Matlock and Patrick Thompson, all of Norman; Matt Johns, Duke Davilla and Stan Green, all of Edmond; Michael Vaughn, Moore; Glenn Sulley, Oklahoma City; Ray North, Seminole; Tim Reich, Holdenville; Dwight Martin and Jerry Braxton, both of Stratford; Gary McCarter, Tishomingo; Pat Payne, Ringling; and Will Clark, Collinsville. Neal Colyer from Runaway Bay, Texas is also scheduled to sing.

For ticket information, contact the McSwain Theatre at 580-332-8108 or online at

The McSwain Theatre, owned and operated by the Chickasaw Nation, is located at 130 W. Main in Ada.

Sherman 4201 Texoma Pkwy (903) 892 -8123 Ardmore 2624 S. Commerce (580) 223-0946
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 218858951 -
Gray Television, Inc.