ARDMORE, OK -- Adults who allow minors to possess or consume alcohol, or other drugs on their property in Oklahoma could soon go to jail.
A new law that goes into effect November 1, 2011 was announced at the Ardmore City Council Meeting tonight. Oklahoma State Senator Frank Simpson says under the law an adult who knowingly gives alcohol to someone underage can face up to a $1,000 dollar fine and up to 6 months in jail. Carter County Public Health Educator Judy Cavnar says it is a law the Substance Abuse Awareness group has been pushing for, for a long time.
"We're just zero tolerance. We cannot afford to lose one more teenage, adolescent to drugs and alcohol. It is unacceptable, " Canvar said.
There will be a luncheon on Wednesday to explain all aspects of the law to local law enforcement and judges.