TMC recognized by state as Level 3 Trauma Center

By: KXII-TV Staff Email
By: KXII-TV Staff Email

DENISON, Tex. ― Texoma Medical Center has been recognized by the State Department of Health Services as a Level 3 Trauma Center.

As a Level 3 facility, TMC has sufficient staff, equipment, and rehabilitative services to care for patients with extensive injuries.

Officials say the designation will allow them to care for patients who otherwise would have to go to Oklahoma City or Dallas for treatment.

"We are able to rapidly evaluate all of our patients care for the ones definitively that we can care for here which is about 95% and transfer the rest to a Level 1 or Level 2 Trauma Center that has additional capacity and capability for caring for these severely injured patients," trauma medical director Mark Dickson said.

TMC is one of 41 hospitals in Texas to be awarded this designation.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
Sherman 4201 Texoma Pkwy (903) 892 -8123 Ardmore 2624 S. Commerce (580) 223-0946
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 42929842 -
Gray Television, Inc.