Chickasaws Announce Candidates for '06

The following is a news release from the Chickasaw Nation:

Chickasaw Nation election Secretary Rita Loder announced the candidates seeking legislative and judicial seats within the Chickasaw Nation. The filing period closed Friday, June 9, 2006 at 4:30 p.m.
Incumbent Judy Goforth Parker was unchallenged for Pontotoc District Seat 2.

Tishomingo District Seat 1 incumbent D. Scott Colbert was also unchallenged. Each will be declared the winner in their respective districts.

Incumbent Holly Easterling will face challengers Dr. Debra D. Vaughn, and Heath Allison for Pontotoc District Seat 1.

Pickens District Seat 1 incumbent Wilson Seawright will face challenger David Woerz.

Pickens District Seat 4 incumbent Wanda Blackwood Scott will face challengers Linda Blackwood Harris and Sue Simmons.

Judicial Seat 3 incumbent Barbara Anne Smith will face challenger Kathleen Whitfield Stoner.

Registered Chickasaw voters will be voting by absentee ballots with ballots being mailed July 21, 2006 and returned to Chickasaw Election Commission no later than 10:30 a.m. on August 22, 2006. No hand delivered ballots will be accepted.

The Chickasaw Nation Election Commission shall conduct and supervise the ballot counting at the Chickasaw Community Center in Ada on August 22, 2006, beginning at 11:00 a.m. Results of the elections shall be announced the same day.

For information, contact Loder at (580) 310-6475.