Election Results in State, Local Races

8-24-04 - Love County resident Terry Hyman won the democratic nomination for District 49 State Represenative Tuesday, defeating Eric Ballou of Madill by 519 votes.

The two democrats were thrust into the runoff after surviving a five-person race in the July primary. Hyman won that race with a large lead, but failed to win a majority. Tuesday, the difference came in Love County where Hyman tallied 1,000 more votes than Ballou. Ballou had the edge in Marshall County, but Hyman had a slight edge in Carter County. In the end, Hyman had 2,380 votes to Ballou's 1,861.

Hyman will advance to the general election where he will face republican Wanda Cruson. District 49 has been in the hands of democrats for years, but incumbent Fred Stanley can't run again due to term limits.

In other area races, R.C. Pruett won the District 19 State Representative democratic nomination, defeating John Williams 3,594 to 3,333 votes. Pruett will face Republican Patrick Miller.

In District 42, Patrick Grimmett claimed 1,942 votes to Nolan Bullard’s 1,763. Grimmett will face Lisa J. Billy in the November election.

In the race for State Senate District 13, Democrat Susan Paddack won the nomination over Mike Wilkerson, with 6,204 votes to Wilkerson’s 5,162. Paddack faces republican Karrol Rhoads in the general election.

In Dickson, voters approved a $2.6 million bond issue to build a cafeteria and safe room, classrooms, rest rooms and sports facilities, 511 voted yes, while only 144 said no.

The Davis school bond issue, for $3.35 million, narrowly failed. 438 out of 760 voted yes, but that fell just shy of the needed 60% margin to pass.

In Atoka County, propositions connected to 911 fees on residential and cellular phones all failed. Meanwhile, a proposition for the Atoka school district passed.