Members of Oklahoma House take oaths of office

By: From Wire Reports
By: From Wire Reports

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Most members of the Oklahoma House and Senate are being sworn in at the state Capitol.

Oklahoma Supreme Court Chief Justice Steven Taylor administered the oath of office at 11 a.m. Wednesday to most House members during a ceremony in the House chamber.

A handful of the 101 House members were unable to attend the ceremony and will be sworn in separately.

The eight newly elected and 16 re-elected members of the Senate are to be sworn in in the Senate chamber later Wednesday. Only half of the 48-member Senate is up for re-election each election cycle.

Republicans extended their majorities in both chambers and now have a 36-12 advantage in the Senate and a 72-29 edge in the House.

State Rep. Tommy Hardin (R-Madill), state Rep. Pat Ownbey (R-Ardmore), state Rep. Charles McCall (R-Atoka) and state Sen. Frank Simpson (R-Ardmore) in the House Chamber after taking the oath of office on Wednesday, November 14.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
Sherman 4201 Texoma Pkwy (903) 892 -8123 Ardmore 2624 S. Commerce (580) 223-0946
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 179344551 -
Gray Television, Inc.