SHERMAN, Texas -- A mother is behind bars, accused of endangering a child, after she allegedly left her baby unattended on a Sherman doorstep Wednesday morning.
Officers were able to find the infant's mother, 25-year-old Ambrasha Mask. Online court records show she has a small criminal history, including a criminal mischief charge from 2009, but now, Mask faces up to two years in state jail.
Sherman Police were called to a home in the 1300 block of South Travis street around 6:45 a.m. Wednesday morning.
"The Sherman police department received a 911 call from someone that had found an infant child on someone's porch that was crying," said Sgt. D.M. Hampton.
Sgt. Hampton says the baby was left alone on the porch for 45 minutes to an hour, and the person who found the crying child and contacted 911 couldn't get anyone to answer the front door of the home.
"This is an adult person that has a child. They need to make sure that the person they are leaving the child with is A--home, and B--able to take care of that child," said Sgt. Hampton.
Officers then found and arrested the infant's mother, Ambrasha Mask. She is being held on a $15,000 bond, and faces a charge of abandoned endangerment of a child, criminal negligence.
The incident report states Mask left the infant on the porch of the suspected father, hoping he would care for the baby while she was at work. News 12 spoke to the man who lives at the residence and asked him if the baby is his, he told us he did not want to talk about it.
"In this case, if there's no actual injury to a child, and they're just exposed to a risk of danger, then it's a state jail felony, and the person is subject up to 2 years in state jail," said Grayson County District Attorney Joe Brown.
Sherman Police confirm a report was made with child protective services.
"They're taking care of the parenting side. They're removing the child if necessary, they're trying to keep the child with family if they can," said Brown.
While police don't believe Mask was dropping the child off indefinitely, there are other cases where a parent feels they can no longer care for an infant. Under the Texas Safe Haven law, a parent can leave a child 60 days old or younger, at a SAFE place: a Police Station, Hospital, EMS Location, or Fire station.
For more information you can call the Texas Safe Haven hotline: 1-877-904-7283