Sherman swears in new city council members

By  | 

SHERMAN, TX -- After two outgoing Sherman City Council members were recognized at Monday night's meeting two new members were sworn in.

Former Sherman Police Chief Tom Watt is now the representative for District 3.

The seat was previously held by Deputy Mayor Pam Howeth.

Businessman Lawrence Davis now holds the District 1 seat which was vacated by Joe Smith.

Both Watt and Lawrence say "thank you" to those who voted for them and say they're looking forward to further serving the residents of Sherman.

Watt said, "it's very different being on the other side of the desk here. It feels heavier if you will, more responsibility I think, but I'm looking forward to working in that capacity,"

Davis said, "I hope I can bring some business experience and good judgement and my legal background will help me some,"

Also at tonight's meeting the council elected member Robert Softly to be the new Deputy Mayor.