US aid approved for 16 Okla. counties after storms

By  | 

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Severe storms that hit 16 North Dakota counties from May 18 to June 2 caused about $40 million in what officials call uninsured infrastructure losses, debris removal and other costs.

Now, Governor Mary Fallin is reporting that Washington has given the OK to her request to provide public assistance to localities hard hit by the recent severe weather and tornadoes.

Fallin says approval will send federal funding to cities, counties, schools and rural electric cooperatives.

Counties affected include Atoka, Canadian, Coal, Hughes, Latimer, Nowata, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Pittsburg, Pushmataha and Seminole. Additional aid was also granted for Cleveland, Lincoln, McClain, Oklahoma and Pottawatomie counties, which were already provided public assistance funding.

The storms caused about $40 million in uninsured infrastructure losses, debris removal and other costs in the counties. Additional counties may be added as more damage is identified.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus