Fire Alert Issued for Southern Oklahoma Counties

9-29-04 - OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) State forestry officials are issuing a Red Flag Fire Alert for 23 counties in southeastern and east-central Oklahoma.

Officials say very dry conditions this month have resulted in a very high fire danger. Extreme caution is urged with all outdoor burning and outdoor burning should be avoided when winds are above 20 miles per hour.

The counties covered by the alert are Atoka, Bryan, Carter, Choctaw, Coal, Creek, Garvin, Haskell, Hughes, Johnston, Latimer, LeFlore and Love.

Also, McCurtain, McIntosh, Marshall, Murray, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pushmataha and Seminole.