Local DA Wins Legislator Seat

8-17-05 - Chickasaw Nation Election Secretary Rita Loder recently announced results of the August 16 tribal election. Incumbent legislator Donna Hartman lost a close contest to challenger Mitch Sperry, and incumbent legislator Melvin Burris will face a runoff. All other incumbents will retain their seats.

Sperry, who polled 1,015 votes to Hartman’s 983, will serve as Pickens District Seat 2 representative on the Chickasaw Nation legislature.

Sperry says he will continue to serve as the district attorney for District 20.

Burris, who won more than 40 percent of the vote in a four-way race, will face Moonienne Perry Ogee in a runoff election for Pontotoc District Seat 3.

Ogee polled 27.18 percent of the vote, while Toby Perkins polled 24.41 percent. Rodney Brown finished a distant fourth with less than nine percent of the vote.

Incumbent Dean McManus won more than 70 percent of the vote to defeat Heath Allison for Pontotoc District Seat 4 representative.

Steven E. Woods polled more than 62 percent of the vote, and will continue as Tishomingo District Seat 3 representative. Woods defeated challenger Joe R. Orr in that contest.

Cheri L. Bellefeuille-Eldred will remain on the Chickasaw Nation Supreme Court, as she won more than 67 percent of the vote to defeat Wilma Pauline (Stout) Watson.

Ballots for the runoff election will be mailed August 29, and counted Sept. 20, 2005.
Winning candidates will be sworn into office 1:30 p.m. Monday, Oct. 3 in the large conference room of Chickasaw Nation Headquarters, 520 East Arlington, Ada.

Election Results at a glance
August 16, 2005
Pontotoc District, Seat 3

Candidate # of Votes %_of

Melvin Burris 1149 40.25%
Toby Perkins 697 24.41%
Rodney Brown 233 8.16%
Mooniene Perry Ogee 776 27.18%
Pontotoc District, Seat 4

Dean McManus 2004 70.79%
Heath Allison 827 29.21%
Pickens District, Seat 2

Donna Hartman 983 49.20%
Mitch Sperry 1015 50.80%

Tishomingo District, Seat 3

Steven E. Woods 871 62.39%
Joe R. Orr 525 37.61%
Chickasaw Nation Supreme Court, Seat 3

Cheri L. Bellefeuille-Eldred 4364 67.17%
Wilma Pauline (Stout) Watson 2133 32.83%