Bush Issues Disaster Declaration for Oklahoma

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Federal Emergency Management Agency
officials say President Bush has issued a major disaster declaration for Oklahoma.

FEMA spokeswoman Nicol Andrews in Washington, D-C, says Bush
issued the declaration tonight in the wake of wildfires that have
scorched more than 380-thousand acres across the state since
November First.

The president's action makes federal funding available for individuals in 12 counties -- Canadian, Cotton, Garvin, Hughes, Lincoln, Logan, Mayes, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Pottawatomie, Seminole and Stephens.

FEMA has come under harsh criticism in recent days from state
officials who say the federal agency was mired in bureaucratic red