22 Republicans, 1 Democrat file for office in Grayson Co.

By  | 

SHERMAN, TX - Twenty-two Republican candidates have filed the necessary paperwork to run for office in Grayson County in April's primary election, while only one Democrat filed to run for office.

While these candidates have filed to run for office in Grayson County, it's not too late for new candidates to emerge. Due to a federal lawsuit filed over redistricting approved by the Texas Legislature this past session, the filing period will reopen at a future date to be determined by a federal court and will run until February 1.

Grayson County Republican Chairman Tom Christman announced today that 22 candidates have filed to run on the GOP ticket for the 13 county offices up for grabs in the April 3rd primary election.

Perhaps the biggest surprise of the list was the omission of longtime Grayson County tax assessor-collector John Ramsey. Only Republicans Bruce Stidham and Janis Hall filed the paperwork to run for that office. Ramsey said he has not yet decided whether he will run again for office.

Three Republicans will challenge incumbent Sheriff Keith Gary -- Commissioner Johnny Waldrip, Deputy David Hawley, and TABC Agent Brent Adams.

Six Republican candidates and one Democrat will vie for two positions on the Commissioners' Court.

Former Grayson County Democratic Party Chairman Tony Beaverson said he believes the lack of Democrats running in Grayson County is a reflection of the number of straight-ticket Republican voters the county has seen in recent elections.

"Part of the reason is in the past couple of elections so many Grayson County voters have voted straight-ticket Republican, it discouraged a number of people from running," Beaverson said.

"Part of it has to with the anti-Obama group here in North Texas, with undertones of racism. It's discouraging folks to run," Beaverson continued.

"When people vote straight-ticket without looking at an individual's qualifications or experience, it's a real threat to our way of life and our democracy."

Here is the full list of candidates who have filed to run for office in Grayson County:

15th District Court:
Judge Jim Fallon (R)

59th District Court:
Judge Rim Nall (R)

Keith Gary (i) (R)
Johnny Waldrip (R)
David Hawley (R)
Brent Adams (R)

District Attorney:
Joe Brown (R)

Commissioner, Precinct 1:
Billy Hamilton (R)
Jeff Whitmire (R)
Ralph Renshaw III (R)

Commissioner, Precinct 3:
Jackie Crisp (i) (R)
Phyllis James (R)
Jim Cross (R)

Carol Shea (D)

Tax Assessor/Collector:
Brice Stidham (R)
Janis Hall (R)

Constable, Precinct 1:
C.C. "Buddy" Wade (i)

Constable, Precinct 2:
Mike Putman (i) (R)

Constable, Precinct 3:
Todd Booher (i) (R)
Scott Taylor (R)

Constable, Precinct 4:
Bob Douglas (i) (R)

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1:
Larry Atherton (R)
Rick Mason (R)

Republican County Chairman:
Gary Cox
Larry Millson

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus