New stamp unveiled in Oklahoma

By  | 

Post Offices across Southern Oklahoma unveiled the new centennial stamp on Thursday.

In Ardmore, Mayor John Moore had the honor of purchasing the first stamp.

A Perkins, Oklahoma, native designed the stamp that features the Oklahoma landscape. From Tishomongo to Davis, Southern Oklahoma post offices were among all 576 offices throughout the state that debuted it today.

Senator Johnnie Crutchfield and Representative Terry Hyman got first dibs in Thackerville.

In Davis, the first two sold went to two very special Murray County natives. Evelyne Johnson and John Akers were alive before Oklahoma became a state. Both their birth certificates say "Indian Territory." Postmaster Calline Rushing presented the two with plaques that included the state stamp and cancellation. Johnson is 104 years old, and Akers turns 103 this month.