Early voting underway for Texas runoffs

Early voting numbers are down this March.
By  | 

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) - Texans have another chance to decide who will help lead their state and county governments.

Early voting begins Monday for the May 27 primary runoff election.

Secretary of State Nandita Berry says early voting runs through Friday for GOP and Democratic races from the March 4 primaries where no candidate had a majority.

Republican voters will decide whether Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst, who wants to keep the job he's had since 2003, or State Sen. Dan Patrick should advance. Dewhurst lost by 13 percentage points to Patrick in the primary.

The winner faces Democratic state Sen. Leticia Van De Putte of San Antonio in the November election.




Locally, two new county judges will be elected in the Republican Runoff Elections in Grayson and Cooke counties. Former Sherman mayor Bill Magers faces current county treasurer Trent Bass in Grayson County, and Jason Brinkley and Byron Berry are on the GOP ballot to replace outgoing Cooke County Judge John Roane. No Democrats are running for either seat.

Three county races also advanced to a runoff in Lamar County. David Niblett and Larry W. Davis are on the GOP runoff ballot for Precinct 2 Commissioner, Gene Hobbs and Curtis Garrett square off for GOP Precinct 5 Justice of the Peace Place 2, and voters will decide between Republicans Jimmy Hodges and Gerry Don Hines for Precinct 5 Constable Unexpired Term.

On the federal level, longtime incumbent District 4 Congressman Ralph Hall faces former U.S. Attorney John Ratcliffe in the Republican Runoff Election.

We'll have all your local election results on Election Night next Tuesday on News 12 at Ten.


Grayson Co. Early Voting Information

Cooke Co. Early Voting Information

All early voting for Fannin County is at the county courthouse in Bonham.

All early voting for Lamar County is at the Lamar County Services Building (old post office) at 231 Lamar Ave in Paris.