Oklahoma has 6 Blue Ribbon schools

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Six schools in central, southern and eastern Oklahoma have been named U.S. Blue Ribbon Schools as part of the No Child Left Behind Act.

The Oklahoma Department of Education nominated Ardmore Middle School; Homer Elementary in Byng; Norman North High School; Schwartz Elementary in Oklahoma City (Mid-Del Public Schools district); Sequoyah Elementary in Shawnee and Washington Elementary in Sapulpa.

School Superintendent Sandy Garrett says there are now 75 schools in Oklahoma that have been named Blue Ribbon Schools and have met the award's rigorous criteria.

The schools must score in the top 10 percent on state reading and math exams at all grade levels assessed or have demonstrated dramatic gains in student achievement in areas of reading and math.

They also must have at least 40 percent of students come from
disadvantaged backgrounds.

A delegate from each school will travel to Washington for a formal ceremony scheduled for October 20th.


On the Internet: http://www.sde.state.ok

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Sherman 4201 Texoma Pkwy (903) 892 -8123 Ardmore 2624 S. Commerce (580) 223-0946
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 28136689 - kxii.com/a?a=28136689
Gray Television, Inc.