Republicans take control of state Senate

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Republicans took control of the Oklahoma Senate for the first time in state history in legislative races today.

The GOP also increased its majority in the state House where the party gained control four years ago.

The 48-member Senate has been evenly divided with 24 Republicans and 24 Democrats the past two years.

Republicans in the Senate won two seats that were held by Democrats although Republican Jim Reynolds was trailing in his race against Democrat David Boren - who is not related to the University of Oklahoma president.

If Reynolds wins - the GOP will hold a 26-22 majority and it will be 25-23 Republican if Reynolds loses.

In the key races Republican Jim Halligan won the seat held by term-limited Democrat Mike Morgan and Democrat Nancy Riley was defeated for re-election by Republican Dan Newberry.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Sherman 4201 Texoma Pkwy (903) 892 -8123 Ardmore 2624 S. Commerce (580) 223-0946
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 33899054 -
Gray Television, Inc.