Lawmakers sworn in for 2009 session

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Republicans have officially assumed control of the Oklahoma Senate for the first time in history after a swearing-in ceremony for newly elected members.

Oklahoma Supreme Court Chief Justice James Winchester administered the oath of office Tuesday to 23 senators.

One senator, Republican Jim Reynolds of Oklahoma City, will be sworn in Wednesday after election results are certified.

Republican Sen. Glenn Coffee of Oklahoma City presided over Tuesday's Senate session. He's the first-ever GOP President Pro Tem.

Republicans hold a 26-22 advantage over Democrats after the Nov. 4 general election.

A swearing-in ceremony was scheduled later for the 101-member House which has been led by Republicans since 2004.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Sherman 4201 Texoma Pkwy (903) 892 -8123 Ardmore 2624 S. Commerce (580) 223-0946
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 34693399 -
Gray Television, Inc.