Oklahoma counties granted federal aid

By: KXII-TV Staff Email
By: KXII-TV Staff Email

OKLAHOMA CITY -- Individuals and businesses in nine Oklahoma counties that suffered losses because of wildfires will get some help from the federal government.

Governor Brad Henry announced Friday that the White House has approved disaster aid for Carter, Cleveland, Grady, Lincoln, McClain, Murray, Oklahoma, Payne and Stephens counties.

About 270 homes and businesses were damaged and more than 100,000 acres were burned when fires erupted April 9th.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by Tyler. Location: Dal-Ft. Worth on Jun 22, 2009 at 03:23 AM
    People should have insurance, so my tax dollars can go to better use. I think that it is dispicable that people will not have to initive to obtain insurance. It protects your investment and helps you move on. Tax dollars should be spent on roads, fire depoartments, schools, etc. Gov. owned objects. Not someones home or bently.
  • by Rhonda Location: Healdton on Jun 21, 2009 at 05:43 AM
    My family members were deeply affected by the fires. They came out of nowhere we lost homes,cars and some things can never be replaced due to the fires. I am happy that the goverment is stepping in to help us and those who were deeply affected by the wildfires.
Sherman 4201 Texoma Pkwy (903) 892 -8123 Ardmore 2624 S. Commerce (580) 223-0946
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 48681037 - kxii.com/a?a=48681037
Gray Television, Inc.