7 inductees to enter state sports hall of fame

By: From Wire Reports
By: From Wire Reports

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Olympic gymnast Nadia Comaneci, Kansas basketball coach Bill Self and Oklahoma City Thunder chairman Clay Bennett are among this year's inductees to the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame.

The 2013 class announced Tuesday also includes NCAA champion wrestler Wayne Baughman, ex-Detroit Lions running back LeRoy "Ace" Gutowsky, ex-Oklahoma quarterback Jimmy Harris and former NFL lineman John Henry Ward.

Induction ceremonies are scheduled for Aug. 5 at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. Gutowsky, Harris and Ward will be honored posthumously.

Comaneci was the first Olympic gymnast to receive a perfect 10 score and won five gold medals.

Self led Kansas to the 2008 men's basketball national championship.

Harris was undefeated as Oklahoma's quarterback and led OU to national championships in 1955 and 1956.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Sherman 4201 Texoma Pkwy (903) 892 -8123 Ardmore 2624 S. Commerce (580) 223-0946
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 186993631 - kxii.com/a?a=186993631
Gray Television, Inc.