OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Oklahomans with a license to carry a concealed firearm are now able to carry their handguns out in the open.
The state's much-debated open-carry law went into effect Thursday after being approved by the Republican-controlled Legislature and signed into law by Gov. Mary Fallin earlier this year.
It allows the estimated 141,000 Oklahomans with a license to carry a concealed firearm to also carry their weapons openly in a holster or belt. State officials say they've seen a 40 percent increase in license applications this year.
The law only allows handguns less than 16 inches long and .45 caliber or smaller to be carried openly.
Guns still are prohibited, concealed or not, in government buildings and public meetings, bars and taverns, schools, college campuses, and professional sporting events.
(Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)
Oklahoma Open Carry Frequently Asked Questions
Q: What is Open Carry?
A: Open Carry refers to an unconcealed handgun, which is a loaded or unloaded handgun carried on your person in a belt or shoulder holster that is wholly or partially visible.
Q: Is Open Carry legal in Oklahoma?
A: Starting November 1, 2012, a handgun license shall authorize a person to carry concealed or unconcealed.
Q: How was Open Carry legalized in Oklahoma?
A: SB 1733, passed by the Oklahoma House and Senate, was signed into law by Governor Mary Fallin on May 15, 2012. This legislation expands Oklahoma’s current concealed carry provisions to now include open carry. Thus, current concealed carry statutory provisions that govern eligibility requirements, licensing requirements, and places where carrying a concealed handgun is permitted will now be applied to open carry provisions.
Q: What firearms can I openly carry pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act?
A: Only handguns.
Q: What size can the handgun be?
A: Less than sixteen (16) inches in length.
Q: What kind of ammunition can be used?
A: .45 caliber or smaller.
Q: Can I openly carry the pistol in my hand?
A: No. You must keep the pistol on your person and in a belt or shoulder holster, or in a scabbard or case designed for carrying firearms.
Q: If I already have a concealed carry license, do I need to reapply for an open carry license?
A: No. Starting November 1, 2012, a handgun license issued by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (“OSBI”) will permit both open and concealed carry. This includes concealed carry licenses that have been previously issued by OSBI.
Q: Do I have to be licensed to openly carry a handgun pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act?
A: Yes. The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (“OSBI”) is authorized to license eligible persons to carry concealed or unconcealed handguns.
Q: What are the residency and age requirements for a license?
A: You must be a citizen of the United States, resident of Oklahoma, and at least 21 years of age.
Q: I travel to Oklahoma several times each year, do I qualify as a resident?
A: No. A resident of the state is someone who has a valid Oklahoma driver’s license or state photo identification card, and physically maintains a residence in Oklahoma, or someone who has permanent military orders in Oklahoma and possesses a valid driver license from another state.
Q: Where can I get a handgun license application?
A: You can find the application on OSBI’s website (http://www.ok.gov/osbi/) or at your local county sheriff’s office.
Q: How do I apply for a handgun license with OSBI?
A: You must submit an application in person to your county sheriff’s office. You must also undergo an OSBI background check, complete a firearms safety and training course, demonstrate competence with the type of pistol you intend to carry, and pay an application fee.
Q: How much is the application fee?
A: $100 for a five year handgun license or $200 for a ten year handgun license.
Q: How long is the firearms safety and training course?
A: An eight hour course.
Q: How long does it take to complete the application process?
A: Approximately 100 days, if the background check conducted by the OSBI reveals no records pertaining to the applicant.
Q: Can I ever carry openly without a handgun license?
A: Yes. You can carry loaded or unloaded shotguns, rifles, or handguns openly and without a handgun license if you are hunting animals or fowl, competing or practicing in a safety or hunter safety class, target shooting skeet, trap or other recognized sporting events, practicing or participating in military or police functions, during a practice for or a performance for entertainment purposes, or for any legitimate purpose not in violation of the Oklahoma Firearms
**SB 1733 also allows you to carry openly and without a handgun license for self-defense in or on property that you own, lease, or rent.
Q: Who is not allowed to carry a handgun pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act?
A: Generally, if you meet any of the following, you cannot carry a handgun: you are a convicted felon, you have been adjudicated as a delinquent, you are considered legally incompetent, or you are not licensed.
*Non-violent felony offenders can have their gun rights restored through a gubernatorial pardon.
Q: What are some of the preclusions to openly carry a handgun pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act?
A: Generally, if you meet any of the following, state law prevents you from openly carrying a handgun until a certain amount of time has passed without those factors being present in your life: you have a history of violence, substance abuse, or mental illness. You must wait anywhere from 3 to 10 years.
Q: At what places am I not allowed to carry a handgun?
A: Generally, you cannot openly carry at the following places or events:
Private businesses, organizations or residences that prohibit open carry
Buildings, structures or office space owned or leased by governmental entities
Meetings of any city, county, town state or federal officials
Meetings of school board members or legislative members
Meetings of other elected or appointed officials
Any prison, jail or detention facility
Any place where pari-mutuel wagering is authorized
Sporting Arenas during a professional sporting event
Establishments whose primary purpose is to dispense alcoholic beverages
Colleges, Universities or Technology Centers
Public and Private Schools
Any other place specifically prohibited by law
Q: Can I openly carry at a restaurant?
A: Generally, open carry is permitted at restaurants unless the business owner chooses not to allow it. The business owner or business entity may post a sign prohibiting firearms or weapons, but nothing requires them to do so. Open carry is not permitted in the bar areas of restaurants.
Q: Can I openly carry at a bar?
Q: Can I openly carry at a state park?
Q: What if a business posts a sign stating “No Firearms?”
A: You cannot carry in this business.
Q: What if I get stopped by a police officer while I am openly carrying?
A: If you are arrested, detained, or pulled over for a routine traffic stop, you must notify the police officer immediately that you have a handgun in your possession.
Q: Do I need my identification with me while I openly carry?
A: Yes. You must have your handgun license AND Oklahoma driver license or state photo identification with you at all times.
Q: Should I show the police officer my handgun license?
A: You must show the police officer your handgun license if the police officer asks to see it.
Q: What is reciprocity?
A: Oklahoma recognizes or honors concealed carry licenses issued by other states.
*SB 1733 expands current law, starting November 1, 2012, Oklahoma will also recognize open carry licenses.
Q: Can I carry a concealed handgun without a license?
A: Starting November 1, 2012, the state of Oklahoma will allow you to carry a concealed handgun without a license only if you are allowed to do so in your own state.
Q: How was this legalized in Oklahoma?
A: SB 1785, passed by the Oklahoma House and Senate, was signed into law by Governor Mary Fallin on May 7, 2012. This legislation expands Oklahoma’s current law of reciprocity to allow Oklahoma to recognize non-permitting carry states.
Q: What are the non-permitting carry states?
A: The Oklahoma Department of Public Safety maintains an update to date list. Currently, those states are Alaska, Arkansas, Vermont, and Wyoming.
Q: Can I openly carry and not have a permit?
A: Maybe. You can carry a handgun openly or concealed without a license under reciprocity if this is allowed in your state and under the same conditions that are required in your state.
Q: What if I get stopped by a police officer?
A: You must notify the police officer immediately that you have a handgun in your possession pursuant to the non-permitting laws of your resident state.
Q: Do I need my identification with me?
A: Yes. You must have a valid photo ID that shows you are a resident of the non-permitting state.
This information is intended to serve as a guide for the recent changes in Oklahoma’s gun laws. Therefore, all provisions of Oklahoma’s gun laws are not included. This information does not constitute legal advice and is informational only.
FAQs from the Office of Okla. Governor Mary Fallin
Designed by Gray Digital Media