Law enforcement agencies in Texas now have a new tool to keep uninsured drivers off the road. The Texas-Sure program went into effect last week.
Officers can immediately determine whether or not a car is insured using a license plate or VIN-number.
The system was created by the Texas Department of Insurance, Texas Department of Public Safety, and the Texas Department of Transportation.
The new system is more accurate relying on insurance cards alone.
"Take the insurance card that individuals had when they drove down the highway and believe that that vehicle was insured as it drove up and down the interstates and highways of Texas. Now we can confirm that information, and try to reduce the fact that there's one out of every four vehicles on the highways in Texas that's uninsured," DPS Trooper Mark Tackett says.
Driving without liability insurance could cost you a maximum fine of $350 on top of court costs. Repeat offenders may also face a 2 year driver’s license suspension.