OU, Texas, Rice, TCU to host NCAA regionals

(AP) - Top-ranked UC Irvine has been selected to host a college baseball regional for the first time in school history.

The Anteaters, a College World Series participant two years ago, joined Louisville and TCU on Sunday as first-time hosts. Each of the 16 host schools are guaranteed berths in the 64-team tournament, which starts Friday.

The Atlantic Coast Conference led the field with four schools - Clemson, Florida State, Georgia Tech and North Carolina - selected as hosts. The Southeastern Conference was next with three: Florida, LSU and Mississippi.

The other hosts are: Arizona State, Cal State Fullerton, East Carolina, Oklahoma, Rice and Texas.

The rest of the field, including the top eight national seeds, will be announced Monday.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
Sherman 4201 Texoma Pkwy (903) 892 -8123 Ardmore 2624 S. Commerce (580) 223-0946
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 45968197 - kxii.com/a?a=45968197
Gray Television, Inc.