No. 4 Sooners elect team captains

Oklahoma starting quarterback Landry Jones has been elected a team captain for the third straight season.

Coach Bob Stoops said after practice Monday that Jones was one of five players chosen as a captain in a team vote. Gabe Ikard, who is moving from guard to become the starting center, joins Jones as an offensive captain.

Lineman David King was chosen as the captain of the defense, and punter Tress Way will serve as the leader on special teams for a second straight season.

Stoops says fullback Trey Millard received enough votes between offense and special teams that he was selected as the fifth captain.

The fourth-ranked Sooners open their season Sept. 1 at UTEP.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
Sherman 4201 Texoma Pkwy (903) 892 -8123 Ardmore 2624 S. Commerce (580) 223-0946
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 166845096 -
Gray Television, Inc.