Cowboys send 11 to Pro Bowl

Dallas Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo, left, and tight end Jason Witten, right, celebrate their game-tying touchdown against the Detroit Lions with running back Marion Barber, center, in the fourth quarter of a football game Sunday, Dec. 9, 2007 in Detroit. Romo's 16-yard pass to Witten tied the game at 27-27 with 22 seconds remaining. The extra point conversion by kicker Nick Folk gave the Cowboys a 28-27 win. (AP Photo/Duane Burleson)

DALLAS -- A club record-tying eleven members of the Dallas Cowboys were named to the Pro Bowl today, with five of those players earning their first trip to Hawaii.

Seven players on offense were selected -- Flozell Adams (fourth selection), Marion Barber (first), Leonard Davis (first), Andre Gurode (second), Terrell Owens (sixth), Tony Romo (second) and Jason Witten (fourth). Adams, Gurode, Davis, Owens and Witten were named as starters to the NFC squad.

Witten is making his fourth consecutive Pro Bowl appearance, joining Jay Novacek (5 selections) as the only two tight ends in club history to make at least four appearances in the game.

Owens makes his first trip as a Cowboy and his sixth overall.

Three defensive players -- Ken Hamlin (first selection), Terence Newman (first) and DeMarcus Ware (second) were also added -- while rookie Nick Folk (first) was the lone special teams player selected. Ware was named as a starter for the second straight year.

The 11 Dallas players selected ties a club record for the most Cowboys ever to be named to the Pro Bowl. Dallas had 11 selections in both the 1993 and 1994 seasons.

Barber, Davis, Folk, Hamlin, and Newman are each making their first trip to the Pro Bowl.


** Terrell Owens, WR (sixth selection)

** Flozell Adams, T (fourth selection)

** Jason Witten, TE (fourth selection)

** DeMarcus Ware, LB (second selection)

** Andre Gurode , C (second selection)

** Leonard Davis, G (first selection)

** Nick Folk, K (first selection)

Tony Romo, QB (second selection)

Marion Barber, RB (first selection)

Ken Hamlin, S (first selection)

Terence Newman, CB (first selection)

** denotes starter