Bradford named to O'Brien Award watch list

NORMAN, OK - Oklahoma's Sam Bradford is one of just 31 Football Bowl Subdivision quarterbacks named to the Davey O'Brien Award Watch List that was announced today. The award honors the top quarterback in college football.

Bradford, who will be a sophomore in the 2008 campaign, led the nation in passing efficiency last season as a redshirt freshman. He fired 36 touchdown passes, an NCAA record for freshmen, against just eight interceptions.

On the season, the Oklahoma City native completed 237-of-341 passes for 3,121 yards.

Watch List candidates were selected by a subset of the National Selection Committee and approved by the Davey O'Brien Executive Committee. Semifinalists will be announced October 27; finalists November 24.

This prestigious award focuses on accomplishments both on and off the field. The Selection Committee is asked to evaluate all candidates on their quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

The 2008 winner will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN December 11. The recipient will be honored February 16, 2009, at the 32nd Annual O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

The Davey O'Brien Award has gone to an Oklahoma player, and both times that player was Jason White. He received the honor in 2003 and 2004.