LSC hosts Football Media Day

The Lone Star Conference held their annual football preseason media day today at the Crown Plaza Suites in Dallas.

Football coaches from all thirteen football programs were on hand to talk about their team and season outlooks. They also got a glimpse of the preseason rankings voted on by the schools’ sports information directors and several members of the media.

The football programs are ranked as followed:

North Division:
1. Texas A&M-Commerce
2. Southeastern Oklahoma
3. Southwestern Oklahoma
4. Central Oklahoma
5. Northeastern State
6. East Central

South Division
1. Abilene Christian
2. West Texas A&M
3. Tarleton State
4. Midwestern State
5. Texas A&M-Kingsville
6. Angelo State
7. Eastern New Mexico

The preseason players of the year were also announced. East Central Quarterback Marcus Johnson earned Offensive Player of the Year for the North Division.

Several volleyball and soccer head coaches were also in attendance to help kick off the fall season. For the first time in school history, ECU will have a volleyball team. David Thorn will head the program after a long coaching stint at UT-Pan American.

More information on today’s event and the preseason polls can be found at the LSC website (

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus