Bradford, McCoy on O'Brien watch list

The Davey O'Brien Award released its 13 semifinalists for the 2008 honor Monday. Twelve of the 13 are junior or seniors. The exception? Oklahoma sophomore Sam Bradford.

The Fort Worth, Texas-based award is presented annually to the top quarterback in college football. OU's Jason White was the honoree in 2003 and 2004.

Bradford has completed 183-of-270 passes for 2,520 yards with 29 touchdowns and five interceptions.

He has set an NCAA record for touchdown passes during a freshman and sophomore seasons with 65. Earlier this season, he bettered the OU mark for passing yards and total offense in one game with 468 and 482, respectively, against Kansas.

For his career, Bradford has 65 touchdown passes against just 13 interceptions.

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) today proudly announced its 2008 Semifinalist List. The list highlights 13 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) quarterbacks who will vie for the award honoring the nation's best quarterback until Finalists are announced November 24.

"These candidates represent a high level of talent from coast to coast," said Danielle Moorman, executive director of the Davey O'Brien Foundation. "The O'Brien is proud to highlight these young men, not only for their elite quarterback skills, but for their qualities of character and leadership that the award is committed to honoring."

Semifinalists were selected by The O'Brien Selection Committee, comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners, as well as fans across the country with the top three quarterbacks from The O'Brien Fan Vote being added to the list.

The Selection Committee is asked to evaluate each candidate on his quarterback skills, athletic ability, academics, character, leadership, sportsmanship and reputation as a team player. For a complete listing of O'Brien Selection Committee members, click here.

These 13 Semifinalists will contend for the award until the list is narrowed to three Finalists on November 24. All Finalists will be in attendance in Orlando, Fla., where The O'Brien Winner will be announced during The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing December 11.

The recipient will be honored February 16, 2009, at the 32nd Annual O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

Fans are able to vote for Semifinalist candidates once daily at The voting will continue throughout the Semifinalist and Finalist rounds with 5% of the final tally coming directly from the Fan Vote.

The O'Brien honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership,

The O'Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation has given away more than $750,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

2008 O'Brien Semifinalists

Sam Bradford, Soph, Oklahoma

Daryll Clark, Jr., Penn State

Chase Daniel, Sr., Missouri

Max Hall, Jr.,BYU

Graham Harrell, Sr., Texas Tech

David Johnson, Sr., Tulsa

Colt McCoy, Jr., Texas

Todd Reesing, Jr., Kansas

Zac Robinson, Jr., Oklahoma State

Mark Sanchez, Jr., USC

Matthew Stafford, Jr., Georgia

Tim Tebow, Jr., Florida

John Parker Wilson, Sr., Alabama