SOSU Headed to Regionals

3-6-07 - The NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Committee announced the field of 64 teams for the 2007 NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Championship late Sunday night.

And Southeastern Oklahoma State will be making its first trip to the national tournament since becoming an NCAA Division II institution in 1997 as Central Missouri State in Warrensburg, Mo. will be the host institution.

The tournament is set to begin on Saturday at Central Missouri's Multipurpose Building.

The Savage Storm (25-4) will go in as the South Central Region's No. 2 seed after falling to Midwestern State 89-80 in the Lone Star Conference finals Saturday night.

They will face No. 7-seed Emporia State out of the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletic Association Saturday afternoon at 2:30 p.m.

Tournament Schedule

Saturday, March 10

First round games

Game 1: No. 3 Midwestern State vs. No. 6 West Texas A&M, Noon

Game 2: No. 2 Southeastern Oklahoma State vs. No. 7 Emporia State, 2:30 p.m.

Game 3: No. 1 Central Missouri State vs. No. 8 St. Edward's, 6 p.m.

Game 4: No. 4 Northwest Missouri State vs. No. 5 Pittsburg State, 8:30 p.m.

Sunday, March 11

Semifinal round games

Game 5: Winner of Game 1 vs. Winner of Game 2, 5 p.m.

Game 6: Winner of Game 3 vs. Winner of Game 4, 7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, March 13

Championship game

Game 7: Winner of Game 5 vs. Winner of Game 6, 7 p.m.