SOSU's Babers Selected on All-Star Team

By  | 

3-7-07 Southeastern Oklahoma State's Eric Babers was slected to play in the Second Annual NABC/NCAA Division II All-Star Game Friday when the NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Committee annouced the 20 student-athletes and two coaches participating in the game while will be held Friday, March 23 at the Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame in Springfield, Mass.

The All-Star Game will match an East All-Start Team (with 10 student-athletes from the NCAA East, Northeast, South and South Atlantic regions) against a West All-Star Team (with 10 student-athletes from the NCAA Great Lakes, North Central, South Central and West regions).

Babers, a two-time Lone Star Conference North Division Player of the Year, is one of two players selected to represent the LSC joining South Division Player of the Year Damien Lolar from West Texas A&M.

Babers capped an incredible career by averaging 25.7 points, 10.3 rebounds, 4.7 assists and three blocks a game as the Savage Storm advanced to the South Central Region championship game before falling to host Central Missouri.

The 6-8 Coushatta, La. native ranks among the career leaders in numerous categories at Southeastern. He finished his illustrious career with 1,883 points (fourth), 1,030 rebounds (second), 314 assists (third), 221 blocked shots (first) and 140 steals (second).

Babers and Lolar were also South Central Region Co-Players of the Year.

The All-Star Game will be part of the NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Elite Eight which will be held March 21, 22 and 24 at the MassMutual Center in Springfield, Mass.

In the inaugural Division II All-Star Game in 2006, the West All-Star Team defeated the East All-Stars, 134-122.

Ryan Diggs of Western Washington finished with a game-high 25 points and Franz Steyn of Southwest Baptist had 18 points and 11 re bounds as the duo earned co-Most Outstanding Player of the West All Stars.

Tayron Thomas of Philadelphia had 18 points, seven rebounds and five assists to earn MOP honors for the East All Stars.

Admission to the Second Annual NCAA/NABC All-Star Game is free with paid admission into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. For information on admission to the Hall of Fame, call 1-877-4HOOPLA (446-6752) or visit the Hall of Fame Web site at

West All-Star Team:
Luke Anderson, Minnesota State-Mankato
Eric Babers, Southeastern Oklahoma State
Dustin Bremerman, Seattle Pacific
Kevin Johnson, Humboldt State
Dusty Jura, Nebraska-Kearney
Damien Lolar, West Texas A&M
Frank Phillips, Findlay
Ricky Volcy, Northern Michigan
Zack Whiting, Chaminade
Steven Wright, California (Pa.)
Coach: Bill Brown, California (Pa.)

East All-Star Team:
Tyrone Anderson, Concord
Christian Burns, Philadelphia
Matt Cooper, LeMoyne
Andre Dabney, Bloomfield (Pa.)
Antonio Fitzgerald, St. Augustine's
Gil Goodrich, Bowie State
DeMario Grier, Pfeiffer
Esmir Guzonjic, North Alabama
Magen McNeil American International
Jason Smith Alabama-Huntsville
Coach: David McLaughlin, Stonehill