MLB changes error to hit for Ortiz vs. Darvish

Yu Darvish's recent no-hit bid now officially ended in the seventh inning, not the ninth.

Major League Baseball has overturned a controversial scoring decision from Friday's game between the Rangers and Red Sox. Acting on an appeal by Boston slugger David Ortiz, MLB on Wednesday changed an error in the seventh to a single.

Darvish had retired the first 20 batters before Ortiz hit a popup that was ruled an error even though it wasn't touched. Ortiz added a clean single with two outs in the ninth, the only other hit.

The popup dropped between Texas rookie second baseman Rougned Odor and right fielder Alex Rios.

The official scorer charged Rios with an error, citing MLB rules that a ball doesn't have to be touched to be an error if a routine catch was possible.

(Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
Sherman 4201 Texoma Pkwy (903) 892 -8123 Ardmore 2624 S. Commerce (580) 223-0946
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 259257361 - http://kxii.com/a?a=259257361
Gray Television, Inc.