Southeastern Hands Out All-Sports Honors

Wednesday evening Southeastern handed out its end of the year honors including its overall Athletes of the Year awards as well as the team Most Valuable Player honors and the Scholar-Athlete recognition.

The Savage Storm has 22 student-athletes earn All-Great American Conference honors with the baseball selections still outstanding.

SE also racked up four GAC specialty awards with Megan Kunkel taking Freshman of the Year honors during volleyball season, while softball took home three honors as Ron Faubion was named Coach of the Year, Jacee Bennett was named Pitcher of the Year and Mindy McElroy was named Newcomer of the Year.

Southeastern programs awarded 151 letters to athletes for the 2012-13 competition seasons.

The Savage Storm handed out its Male Athlete of the Year honor to Chris Roussell and Luka Radulovic.

Roussell, a senior guard from Edgard, La., completed his four-year career in 2013, wrapping up his senior season by earning first team All-Great American Conference honors. Over the 2012-13 season he lead the Savage Storm with a 15.3 points per game average and was second on the team in rebounding at 7.2 rebounds per outing. He posted 46 three point buckets, 199 total rebounds, 90 assists and 45 steals as a senior. He also posted a career-best 413 points this season which made him the newest member of the 1,000-point club, finishing his career with 1,008 points. Roussell has also served as the Student Athlete Advisory Committee President for the last two seasons. He is a business marketing major.

Radulovic, a senior from Belgrade, Serbia, posted 14 wins in singles play over the 2013 season and 24 wins individually over two seasons. He earned his second-straight First Team All-Great American Conference selection which followed up his 2012 GAC Newcomer of the Year honor. In the fall he advanced to the quarterfinals of the ITA Central Regional Championships. He has played his entire career at the number one position in singles and doubles, earning 24 singles wins and 10 doubles wins over two season. He has also helped the Savage Storm to 21 wins over two years. He is a business management major.

The Female Athlete of the Year honor will be handed out at the conclusion of the 2013 women's competition season as softball still has postseason play ahead.

Southeastern also handed out its Scholar-Athlete Honors for both men and women.

The Scholar-Athlete on the women's side was Shelby Fraser of the cross country program

She was followed in order by Dakota Palmer (Softball), Paige Priest (Softball), Bailey Welch (Women's Basketball), Kaija Morris (Softball) and Courtney Miller (Volleyball).

The men's Scholar-Athlete was Christopher Burns from the men's tennis program.

He was followed by Jeffrey Hunter (Golf), Chris ROussell (Men's Basketball), Joshua Morrison (Football) and Derek Ogg (Football).

Below is a list of each team's MVP selection:

Football – Travis Kincheloe
Volleyball – Emily Gentle
Cross Country – Kayla Sanders
Golf – TBD
Men's Rodeo – Dillon Holder
Women's Rodeo – Austee Anderson
Men's Basketball – Chris Roussell
Women's Basketball – Bailey Welch
Women's Tennis – Andreea Georgescu
Men's Tennis – Luka Radulovic
Softball – Courtney Moore
Baseball – Evan Ramsey