Sports 12 Rewind Legends: G.A. Moore

Published: Jul. 1, 2020 at 11:03 PM CDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

(KXII) - G.A. Moore won 8 state football titles, splitting them between two big-time rivals. He won six in Celina and two in Pilot Point.

Moore won his first state championship in Celina and was then called to coach at his alma-mater in Pilot Point. Moore began working his magic. He took over a Bearcat team in the late 70′s that had gone 1-9, and it took them nine years to lose nine more, going 106-9-3 during that span. Pilot Point won back to back state titles in 1980 and 1981.

Moore coached the Sherman Bearcats for a brief time before returning to Celina for his second stint there. That is when things got really special. Moore would average 12 wins a year over the next 14 years, winning state in 1995, 1998, 1999, 2000 and 2001. Celina had a 57 game winning streak during those championship years.

Moore then returned to Pilot Point where he passed Gordon Wood as the all-time winningest coach in Texas with 426 wins. He is currently 2nd all-time.

Moore entered the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame in 2012. Before his coaching career, Moore was an all-state player at Pilot Point in football and basketball. He played running back at North Texas State (now UNT). Moore coached for 45 years.

Copyright 2020 KXII. All rights reserved.

Latest News

Latest News