Candidate filing period ends, 2020 Grayson Co. primary ballot set

The candidate filing period for next year's elections in Texas has closed, and we now know who'll be on the primary ballot in 2020.

Two Grayson County commissioners will face challengers in next year's Republican Primary.

Incumbent Jeff Whitmire is being challenged by 903 Brewers owner Jeremy Roberts for Precinct 1.

And Precinct 3 Commissioner Phyllis James will face Whitesboro real estate broker Colby Meals in the Republican Primary.

Grayson County District Attorney Brett Smith and Sheriff Tom Watt did not draw opponents.

No Democrats filed to run for any Grayson County office.

Texas Congressman John Ratliffe (R-04) won't face a challenger in the primary, but he will face Sherman Democrat Russell Foster in November.

That's also the case for Texas State Rep. Reggie Smith (R-Sherman), who won't face an opponent until the general election in Democrat Gary Thomas of Denison.