Metheny inducted to Hall of Fame by ABCA

Mike Metheny was inducted into the American Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame on Friday in Nashville.

Metheny was one of six inductees to go in, joined by John Casey of Tufts, Tim Corbin from Vanderbilt, Wayne King Jr. from Joliet Junior College, Mike Kinnison from Delta State, and Dennis Rogers from Riverside City College.

The ceremony was held during the 76th annual ABCA Convention. Induction to the ABCA Hall of Fame is the highest honor bestowed by the organization. The ABCA was founded in 1945 and the Hall of Fame began in 1966.

After 37 years at the helm of the Southeastern Oklahoma State University baseball program, Mike Metheny announced his retirement from coaching following the 2017 season. He finished his storied career with a national championship and as the winningest coach in NCAA Div. II baseball history.