Sports 12 Rewind: Wynnewood wins 1987 2A Football Title

The Wynnewood Savages had already won two state titles by at this point, but it had been awhile, as they played Hobart in the 1987 2A State Finals.

The Savages started fast with first quarter touchdown runs by Rodney Wright and Tony Levy to go up 14-0.

The game was tied at 14 in the 4th quarter when Levy scored again to give Wynnewood the 21-14 win.

The Savages would go on to win three more titles, picking up championships in 1988, 1991 and 1992. They had previously won championships in 1949 and 1965. They have six total state championships in all.