Texas gets #2 overall seed in NCAA baseball tournament

NEW YORK (AP) - Arizona State has been selected as the top seed for the 64-team NCAA Division I college baseball tournament.

The Sun Devils (47-8) won the Pac-10 title under interim coach Tim Esmay. They will host one of 16 four-team, double-elimination regionals that begin Friday. Arizona State opens against Horizon League champion Milwaukee (33-24).

The other national seeds, in order, are: Texas, Florida, Coastal Carolina, Virginia, UCLA, Louisville and Georgia Tech.

The 16 regional winners move on to the best-of-three super regionals, with those winners advancing to the College World Series, which begins June 19 in Omaha, Neb.

Defending national champion LSU will play UC Irvine in the first round of the Los Angeles regional, hosted by UCLA.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus