SOSU, ECU leaving Lone Star Conference

Southeastern and East Central have notified the Lone Star Conference that they will leave the league in 2012. The two universities will join Southwestern and six colleges from Arkansas to form a new league. The move has been in the works for several weeks. The chancellors for the schools met last week in Russellville, Arkansas. They notified the LSC today.

Lone Star Conference Commissioner Stan Wagnon has issued the following statement in regard to conference membership.

“The Lone Star Conference has been notified that East Central University, Southeastern Oklahoma State University and Southwestern Oklahoma State University plan to withdraw from the league. Per LSC membership policy, the withdrawal shall become effective June 30, 2012.

Withdrawing members are obligated to play all approved LSC athletic competitions with other members up to the effective withdrawal date. In the event of inability or refusal to meet those obligations, the withdrawing member(s) shall pay a financial penalty unless such competitions are waived or modified by written consent of the parties affected.

I continue to work with administrators at those institutions that are committed to LSC membership and we remain confident in the future success of the league.”

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus