SOSU picked second, ECU 7th in pre-season poll

Texas A&M-Commerce is the favorite in the North Division and West Texas A&M is the top choice in the South Division, according to the 2010 Lone Star Conference preseason polls announced Tuesday.

The league's preseason polls reflect the opinions of LSC head coaches and sports information directors, plus various media representatives from throughout the region.

The 2010 football season kicks off in late August, and the LSC has 14 teams set to compete. Each team will play a total of 10 countable conference games. Divisional champions will be determined by only those games against division opponents, while the overall league champion will be determined by the overall 10-game conference record, which will include six division games plus four crossover contests.

With Incarnate Word joining the league in the South Division, Eastern New Mexico will be realigned to the North Division in football for the 2010 and 2011 seasons.

In 2009, Midwestern State, Texas A&M-Kingsville and Tarleton State shared the LSC football title. Texas A&M-Commerce claimed the North Division crown with a perfect 5-0 mark, while Tarleton, MSU, TAMUK and West Texas A&M were the South Division co-champions with identical 4-2 marks.


Texas A&M-Commerce is favored to repeat as Lone Star Conference North Division champions, according to the annual preseason poll, after winning its last five games of the 2009 season.

The Lions received first-place votes on 12 of the 19 ballots cast by LSC coaches, sports information directors and various media representatives.

A&M-C, who posted a perfect 5-0 mark in the division last season, totaled 123 points in the poll to end up in front of Southeastern Oklahoma. SE finished second with 110 points and three first-place votes.

Central Oklahoma (95) was third with two first-place nods, Eastern New Mexico (76) was fourth including two first-place tallies, Northeastern State (63) fifth, Southwestern Oklahoma (40) sixth and East Central (25) rounded out the poll.


West Texas A&M is the top choice to win the Lone Star Conference South Division in 2010, according to the annual preseason poll.

WTAMU, who posted a 7-5 overall and 4-2 divisional record in 2009, earned first-place votes on nine of the 19 ballots to finish with 105 total points in front of Abilene Christian’s 103-point tally with three first-place tallies in the poll of LSC head coaches, sports information directors and various media representatives.

The Buffaloes were South Division co-champions and represented the league in the inaugural Kanza Bowl in Topeka, Kan.

Midwestern State finished third with 91 points and three first-place votes, Tarleton State was fourth (87, two first-place), Texas A&M-Kingsville fifth (84, two first-place) Angelo State sixth (42) and Incarnate Word seventh (20).

In 2009, MSU, TAMUK and Tarleton shared the LSC football title and were also South Division co-champions with identical 4-2 marks along with WTAMU.

The LSC continued its regular participation in the postseason with four teams – MSU, TAMUK, Tarleton and ACU - selected to play in the NCAA Division II playoffs last season.

North Division 1st TOTAL
1 Texas A&M-Commerce 12 123
2 Southeastern Oklahoma 3 110
3 Central Oklahoma 2 95
4 Eastern New Mexico 2 76
5 Northeastern State 63
6 Southwestern Oklahoma 40
7 East Central 25

South Division 1st TOTAL
1 West Texas A&M 9 105
2 Abilene Christian 3 103
3 Midwestern State 3 91
4 Tarleton State 2 87
5 Texas A&M-Kingsville 2 84
6 Angelo State 42
7 Incarnate Word 20

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus