SOSU wins LSC Tournament, advances to NCAA Tournament

Southeastern’s Eric Walker connected on a 2-2 pitch, sending it up the middle and driving in Justin Miller to bring a marathon 14-inning contest to a close and earn the Savage Storm its third Lone Star Conference Championship with a 7-6 win over Cameron on Tuesday evening in Abilene, Texas.

The Savage Storm placed four players on the All-Tournament team as well as having the Most Outstanding Player of the Tournament in Heath Wyatt.

Justin Miller, Kevin Phillips, Jimmy Johnson and Riley Keith each earned all-tourney recognition.

Wyatt turned in a herculean effort on Tuesday, collecting a save in game one to help SE force a second game where he turned in the longest outing in the conference on the season, tossing 13.0 innings to earn the win in the title clincher.

In the title game Wyatt scattered five hits over 13 innings of work and struck out eight hitters and allowed just one run.

The Storm climbed out of a 5-1 hole and got a two-run double in the bottom of the ninth by Pfister to send the game to extra innings.

Miller was unbelievable in the title game, finishing 5-for-7 with a pair of RBI and three runs scored, including the winning run. He hit .630 for the tournament, going 17-for-27 at the plate o9ver six games with six RBI and 12 runs scored.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus