Southeastern Hands Out 2013-14 Honors

As the 2013-14 athletic season draws to a close, Southeastern gathered together on Monday night to recognize its achievements over the year and hand out awards for excellence in the classroom and in competition.

With the relatively early date of the picnic coming before the completion of four Savage Storm program's seasons, the Most Outstanding Male and Female Athlete honors were not awarded as well as the Team Most Valuable Player awards for softball, baseball and rodeo.

The first award handed out went to SE's Scholar-Athletes.

Cassaundra Braaten of the women's tennis program took home the top spot on the women's side with the department's highest GPA.

She was joined in the top five by Emily Williams from women's basketball, Marina Dias from both the volleyball and women's tennis programs, Kelsey Overacker from softball and Shelby Fraser from cross country.

On the men's side Jeff Hunter from the golf team took home the top Scholar-Athlete spot.

He was joined by Chris Burns and Billy Haugen from men's tennis and Nick Sioson and Derek Ogg from football.

Eight programs did hand out their Team MVP honors on Monday night:

Football - Devlon Wortham
Cross Country - Bailee Weger
Volleyball - Megan Kunkel
Women's Basketball - Emily Williams
Men's Basketball - Urald King
Women's Tennis - Conchi Assiego
Men's Tennis - Nathan Nelmes
Golf - Jeff Hunter

The remaining programs will announce their MVP honors at the conclusion of their season alongside the announcement of the 2013-14 Southeastern Male and Female Athletes of the Year.